Buenaventura, Orca lead BBEAL hoops awardees

University of the Cordilleras (UC) Jaguar June Ray Buenaventura and University of Baguio (UB) Lady Cardinal Janine Orca will lead the Baguio-Benguet Educational Athletic League (BBEAL) Heroes awardees for basketball this January.

Buenaventura will bag the best center award in the coming awards for his efforts to lead the UC Jaguars to the title in his final year while Orca will be the best female center for her efforts in leading the Lady Cardinals to the title. The two are also the shoo-ins as most valuable player awardees.

Buenaventura led a young UC squad to the title by beating BCT in two games, a game which also had the UC rookies carrying the load when he cooled down in the second quarter.

That game saw Krenz Trinidad power moved to help the team to the crown and Daniel Tabangcura sniped from beyond the arc to kept the Jaguars afloat in the 40 minute encounter at the UC gym.

Orca, on the other hand, was the “killer whale” that prowled the BBEAL seas that led to many teams a falling to their defeat during the month long competitions backed by Globe.

Orca joined hands with Ramilo and Lagmay as well as a crew of title starved Lady Cardinals including Briquel Garcia, Alijah Mae Payad, Gracelyn Pagaduan in retaining the title.

Also in the mythical five are: Renzae Cosme (UB) as best point guard, Jervie Calibo of Baguio College of Technology (BCT) as shooting guard, Jayford Pacis of Cordillera Career Development College (CCDC) as small forward and Azzir Nomar Rabara as the power forward.

Trinidad will be the rookie of the year awardee, while Tabangcura will be the sixth man. CCDC’s John Lee Laigo is named as the best defensive player.

On the other hand, the female side will have Cristy Ramilo (UB) as the best point guard, Abegail Villanueva (UC) as shooting guard, Geraldine Lagmay (UB) as small forward and Hazelle Habon of Saint Louis University (SLU) as power forward.

Isabelle Prudencio of the Philippine Military Academy is the rookie of the year, Heather Grace Dodon of UC is the sixth woman awardee and Ma. Kaila Maligsa is the best defensive player.

Coach Albin Santos of UC and Delson Terceno of UB will get the coaches of the awards.

UC looker Kathleen Bangtowan and PMA’s Aaron Torres are the Ms. And Mr. Basketball, respectively, to complete the awards.

Awards for the various allied sports, archery, swimming, badminton, wushu, table tennis, badminton, chess, judo, sepak, baseball and football will also be given.

The BBEAL Heroes awards is being brought by the Eponymous Publications and Media Works.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.