DAES, SLU-LHS nets YMCA Badminton Tilt

BAGUIO CITY – Dona Aurora Elementary School (DAES) and the Saint Louis University-Laboratory High School (SLU-LHS) landed as over-all champions for the elementary and high school divisions respectively, while the YMCA Badminton Club claimed over-all champion for the corporate division of the 2018 YMCA Open Invitational Badminton tournament held March 17-18, 2018 at the YMCA gymnasium here.

Dona Aurora Elementary school’s tandem of Janine Claveria and Anekin Domalleg claimed the championship for the elementary girls doubles (level A) while Franchesca De Guzman and Jewell Cabillon landed 1st runner ups. Level B was netted by Small World Christian School Foundation tandem of Sheena Hindang and Alyana Capili as champions while Raizza Mendiola and Eirene Galera of Baguio High Grounds Christian School landed 1st runner ups in the  contest.

Brothers’ Ivan and Kyle Gorospe of Josefa Carino Elementary School claimed the championship for the Boy’s Doubles Category, Level “A” division, besting brothers’ Mark Christian and Marcial Pinlac of Dona Nicasia Elementary School, who settled as 1st runner ups in the level. Level “B” was bagged by HOPE Christian Academy’s tandem of Gaius Celis and Paul Bangasan as champions while Jefferson Lizardo and Josh Erece of HOPE/SLULES landed 1st runner up in the division.

The Mixed Doubles Division, Level “A” champions were Janine Claveria and Kyle Gorospe (DAES/JCES) while Gyan Ocana and Erika Cantil of Dona Nicasia Elementary School settled 1st runner up. Level “B” tandem of Romeo Salay and Raizza Mendiola of BHGCS bagged the championship while Jasmine Claveria and Josh Erece of DAES/SLULHS respectively came in 1st runner up in the category.

High School Division winners were Jade Claveria and Esper Atiwag of DAES as Girls Doubles Level “A”- Champion, Kyra Kelly and Janzen Begay of Hope Christian Academy as 1st Runner up. Czarina Grospe and Clair Espelita of SLU-Laboratory High school were the Level “B”, Champion while  1st Runner Up went to Nicole Largo and Shamie Julian of San Jose High School, La Trinidad.

The  Boys Doubles, Level “A” Champion were Eilrach Montemayor and Dave Hindang of SLU-LHS while 1st Runner up went to Jasper Claveria and Mathew Mirante of DAES. The Level “B” Champion were Allystaire Caoagdan and Karlo De Vera of SLU-LHS while 1st Runner up went to Ralph Sario and Kyle Alcantara of DANHS.

Mixed Doubles, Level “A”, was grabbed by Eilrach Montemayor and Sofia Elpa of SLULHS while 1st Runner up went to Christian Jade Claveria and Christian Jasper Claveria of DANHS. Level “B”, was taken by Dave Malindang and Yaniza Belmes, besting 1st Runner up Josh Paclibon and Angelica Cayat of University of Baguio Science High School.

42 pairs for the Men’s and Women’s Doubles in five levels “A” to “E” saw action for the corporate level on the second day. After smashing it out for the championships, the following winners emerged: Men’s Doubles Level “A”( bracket A) Champion: Ryan Talavera and Bryan Dizon (YMCA), 1st Runner up: Erick Basto and Vergel Nepomuceno (YMCA).

Level “A” (bracket B) Champion: Jeff Sumentac and Jay Claveria (YMCA), 1st Runner up: Kyle Nepomuceno and Darryl Villareal (YMCA). Level “C” Champion: John Manansala and Carlos Angara (YMCA), 1st Runner up: Oliver Sendin and Obhey Catahan (YMCA). Level “D” Champion: Ramon Rongquillo and Gian Franco (YMCA), 1st Runner up: JM Briones and Jasper Sano (YMCA). Level “E” Champion: Ernesto Delmas and Carmelo Madinno (La Trinidad), 1st Runner up – Eliseo Posadas and Jonathan Quidilig (YMCA).

Meanwhile the women smashers of the YMCA also dominated the women’s division as follows: Level “A” Champion: Gen Arsenio and Ansty, 1st runner up: Sai Balanag and Eleonor Dabucol. Level “B” Champion: Judith Beldad and Jana Pascua (Cool Thunders), 1st Runner up:  Loize Oloroso and Jasmine Talavera. Level “C” Champion: Lea Parel and Weng Bautista, 1st Runner up: Alma Laraya and Mau Mabalot. Level “D” Champion: Amabel Ong and Jocelyn Ramos, 1st Runner up: Jasmine Erece and Jenalyn Salay. Level “E” Champion: Betty Fanig and Florence Angnowen, 1st Runner up: Dyna Cuaresma and Ann Alonzo.

While Mixed Doubles went to the following winners: Level “A” Champion: Sai Balanag and Norman Elpa, 1st Runner up: Erick Basto and Jinky Gonzaga. Level “B” Champion: Peter Tulliao and Krystal Mosquite, 1st Runner up: Avelino Cayat Jr. and Chastine Navarro. Level “C” Champion: Obhey Catahan and Alma Laraya, 1st Runner up: Greg Dally and Jillian Carlos. Level “D” Champion: Manz Malibay and  Carlos Angara, 1st Runner up: Lea Parel and JM Madrigal. Level “E” Champion: Dan Del Rosario and Michelle Ibag, 1st Runner up: Amabel Ong and Jonathan Quidilig.

The badminton tilt, an annual program of the YMCA is the first in two tournaments held every year for elementary and high school students in the public and private schools in Baguio City and Benguet and nearby provinces. More or less two hundred participants from Baguio City, Benguet, and Pangasinan joined to complete the three divisions of the competition.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.