Solons support separation of Tabuk City, Kalinga in CARAA

TABUK CITY, KALINGA – Lawmakers unanimously approved a resolution expressing their strong support to the separation of delegation of Tabuk City and the province of Kalinga in the Cordillera Administrative Regional Athletic Meet Association (CARAA) Meet.

Lawmakers adopted Resolution No. 01-2018 on unanimous motion during a joint special session of the Sangguniang Panlungsod of Tabuk City and the Sangguniang Panlalawigan of Kalinga on May 29.

The resolution states that in order to address the needs of talented pupils and students throughout the province in the different sports disciplines, it is proper to support the separation of local sporting events for Tabuk City and the Province of Kalinga as venues for talent identification, selection, and recruitment of athletes.

“The separation of delegation of Tabuk City and the Province of Kalinga in the regional athletic meet will improve its respective sports event by encouraging better participation of schools/athletes from far-flung barangays in the province,” the resolution reads.

The resolution also states that the Local Government Unit of Tabuk City and the Local Government Unit of Kalinga Province shall financially support its own delegation in the said competition.

In the regular KAPEHAN meeting in April, Governor Jocel Baac initiated a voting on the recommendation of Tabuk City Schools Division to compete as a separate delegation from Kalinga Schools Division.

Voting 44-5, officials approved the recommendation, reasoning that separate delegations would result to better funding, better sports management and would increase the number of athletes participating from the municipalities.

Baac then asked the Provincial Board to hold a joint session with the Tabuk City Council to give their legislative support to the decision.

The Sangguniang Panlungsod members who approved Resolution 01-2018 during the joint session are Zorayda Mia M. Wacnang, Ermilinda D. Wandag, Lucretina S. Sarol, Arnold G. Tenedero, Antonio Bakilan, and City Vice Mayor Darwin C. Estranero.

Their counterparts from the Sangguniang Panlalawigan are Shirlynne B. Dasayon-Alunday, Frederick U. Pangsiw, Eduardo V. Sarol,  Danzel Michael D. Langkit, Emilio Kitongan, Lester Lee O. Tarnate, and Vice Governor James S. Edduba.

By Iryll Sicnao


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.