Folayang joins cast of international sports awardees

BAGUIO CITY – Former ONE World Lightweight Champion Eduard Folayan will join the elite core of athletes who will be honored by the National Correspondents Club of Baguio- Kafagway International Sports Luminary Award (KISLA) set at the Silungan Center of the City Social Welfare and Development Office (CSWDO) at 9AM on February 10.

Folayang, who lost his title last year against his worthy opponent from Canada will receive the “NCCB KISLA Sportsmanship Award 2017”. His display of sportsmanship was highly commendable after losing his championship belt.

Newly crowned World Bantamweight champion in the inaugural Brave Combat Federation Championships Stephen Loman and sportsman Marques Sangiao will lead the group of awardees whose sports achievements last year in several international sportsfest held overseas gave the city and the Cordillera region, flag and country and Philippine Sports glory, honor and prestige.

Loman, a student from the University of Cordilleras (UC) will receive the prestigious “Super Athlete of the Year” trophy while Sangiao, founder of Team Lakay will get the “Super Coach of the Year” award. He was recently ranked No. 2 NMA coach in the Asian Region.

The other honorees in the Roll of Honor are youthful car racer Inigo N. Anton; boxers Carl Jammes Martin and K.J. Natuplag; wushu players Islay Irika, Liane Benito and Marian Tranyce; senior citizen athlete Erlinda Lavandia; wushu ace Divine Wally; PWD para-olympian Adeline Domapog, Jr. girls chess star Bea Mendoza and archers Karen Meer Hoingitan and Mary Queen Ibanez.

Also at the podium are the University of the Cordilleras together with its Athletic Director Danilo Cong-o; traksters Christian Bagsit; sanda ace Jomar Balangui; ultra- marathoner Sandi Minchi Abatan, sports patron Jossie Delinila and the Baguio-Benguet Educational League (BBEAL).

The Silahis ng Pasko sa Baguio 2017 major event sponsors and several civic minded personalitites in the city who participated and immensely supported the successful conduct of the Christmas Season month-long program will share limelight.

On the spot are the Philippine Military Academy , AFP; PHASES Learning Center; SLU SVP Housing Cooperative; Balikbayan Delinila, US Navy retiree Angel Villalarvo and family, BARP Foundation , FBASECA, PGRA and Rev. Fr. Alejandro Bangilan, NCCB and the Shrine of the Brown Madonna Spiritual Adviser.

The awardees from the tri-media aggrupation will be led by Director Helen Tibaldo of PIA-CAR and Aileen Refuerzo from the PIO, City of Baguio. The national correspondents and photo journalists include Zaldy Comada , Andy Zapata, Mau Victa and Milo Brioso.

With the pool of awardees are Baguio Midland Courier, SUNSTAR Baguio, the Baguio Chronicle, Amianan Ngayon , KODIS, the Northern Philippines Times, Baguio Herald Express, Highplains Journal, ABS CBN TV Patrol Northern Luzon, Radio Station DZWT 540, Bombo Radyo Philippines Baguio, and Radyo Pilipinas Baguio. A special citation will also be given to GMA TV and PTV 8.

City Mayor Mauricio Domogan has been invited to grace the awards and recognition rites as the guest of honor and speaker together with Congressman Marquez Go and Vice Mayor Edison Bilog and award presenters Councilors Benny Bomogao and Faustino Olowan and Director Arnel Cabanisas from the Fil-Japanese Foundation NL. Press Release


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.