Toss coin decides MP SK federation presidency

BONTOC, Mountain Province  – The provincial chairmanship of the Sangguniang Kabataan was decided by a flip of a coin after getting an equal number of votes during the election last Thursday at the Sangguninag Panlalawigan session hall.

Jazzel-Mae Masidong of Bauko and Sunshine  Lumines of Natonin got five votes each after the balloting. With the vote of all the ten municipal SK chairmen, they decided to break the tie through “toss the coin”. The fifth and last toss decided the winner with the two contenders evenly sharing the first four flips.

Mark Regan Sapdoy of Sabangan won over Sherwin Chamkas of Bontoc for the vice presidency, 6-4.Other officials elected were Darnell Duligan of Besao as secretary, Chezzel Bunnat of Barlig as treasurer, Shalton Gawan of Paracelis as Auditor, Jereval Lawagey of Sagada as Press Relations Officer, and Salve Coop of Tadian as sergeant. at arms.  Valerie Morareng of Sadanga chaired the Committee on Elections.

Observers say that the recent provincial SK elections was the first in al least two counts. It was the first time that the chairmanship was contested by two female contenders and the first time that a break was resorted to after a tie.

The new set of SK officials took their oath of office before governor Bonifacio Lacwasan, Jr.

Masidong shall sit as ex-officio member of the Sangguninag Panlalawigan starting July this year.

Briefings on the responsibilities and duties of SK officials and programs of the national government were given by DILG Provincial Director Anthony Ballug and Police Provincial Director Allen Sumeg-ang Ocden before the elections.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.