Gov. Pogi tells PRISAA athletes to represent their province with honor and pride

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan – “Represent yourself, your school, your town and especially, your province with honor and pride.”

This was disclosed by Governor Amado I. Espino, III as he led the opening ceremonies of the 28th Private Schools Athletic Association (PRISAA) Regional Games held at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center on November 15.

Overwhelmed by the success of the recently-concluded 1st Inter-Agency Basketball Tournament, Gov. Pogi exclaimed in announcing Governor’s Cup Inter-Town/City Basketball Tournament’s second season, which is set to open this November 18.

Furthermore, Gov. Pogi underscored the projects and undertakings of the provincial government to further support sport endeavors of Pangasinan athletes which include the establishment of sports academy. Accordingly, this sports academy will introduce not less than twelve kinds of sports and will help local players hone their prowess.

Meanwhile, PRISAA Laoag Division president Danilo Dumlao welcomed the participants with enthusiasm as he stressed the benefits of sports in one’s life. In his remarks, he said thet sports does not only enhance physical strength and endurance, but also serves as an avenue to foster harmonious relationships with other.

“May the spirit of sportsmanship reign in every player’s heart,” Dumlao added as he echoed the importance of practicing cooperation, camaraderie and unity at all times.

Hosted by the Laoag Division, this year’s PRISAA Regional fete does not only include sports events, but also singing and dancing competitions will be participated by various students in the region.

From November 15-17, athletes will battle for dominance in the following sports competitions: athletics (men and women); basketball (men); beach volleyball (men and women); chess (men and women); sepak takraw (men); table tennis (men and women); badminton (men and women); taekwondo (men and women); karatedo (men and women); and volleyball (men and women).

Six competing units comprise PRISAA Region 1 namely: Metro Dagupan, Metro San Carlos, Pangasinan I, La Union, Ilocos Sur and Ilocos Norte.

By: Shiella Mae C. De Guzman


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.